Gratitude is a good place to begin…

Today I write from a place of tremendous gratitude.  The “fog” is slowly lifting & as always I’m slowly getting back to my old self.  And on Christmas eve no less!  The day most people could get in to or stay in a funk.  I refuse to stay there & whenever I begin to get stuck in my head I go back to my gratitude list.  It always, always lifts me up.

As I walked to Starbucks for coffee & yogurt I let the sunshine pour over me & I was grateful to live in the neighborhood I do.  I started visualizing a place of my own 2 years ago, definitely in the South End, but nothing as lovely as I have today.  For that I am grateful.

These past few weeks I’ve been writing about my depression & anxiety & all kinds of friends have reached out to offer their support even if only in a quick message.  For them I am grateful.

Returning to photography as a creative outlet has been a boon to getting out of my own head.  It provides a sense of seeing the world as it is not merely as I perceive it to be.  In a way it helps chronicle the good things in my life so I can remind myself to keep going.  To take in the beauty that is the city I love to call home, Boston.  For that I am grateful.

My cats, even all their quirkiness & sometimes extra effort of stomach problems, seem to know when I need some attention.  And in turn they too are something I couldn’t be without.   “Chubby” aka “Louise” just came over & licked my hair as I sit here on the sofa.  She’s odd that way but it’s what makes her unique.  For them I am grateful.

Who truly knows why we get in deep funks sometimes.  I suppose for someone like me it can be related to biology but we’re complex beings.  We have a lot of external forces pushing & pulling at us on a daily basis.  It does get better, everything does, or at least I like to hope that’s true for most people.  Today is a good day, I’ve taken action that needed to be taken & it’s an improvement from days ago.  For that I am grateful.

You know what else I am grateful for?  Peggy Lee‘s Christmas album which is playing on my iPhone at the moment.  Corny I know but it’s never too late to get the Christmass spirit.  For that I am grateful.

I’ll await my grocery delivery today for the rack of lamb I’ll be making for dinner tonight.  I’ve never made a cherry pie either but that should be fun.  I’m sure the kitties will be under foot wondering what all the fuss is about but I’ll be happy.  Peapod Online Delivery, I am grateful for you as well.  😉

Merry Christmas everyone!!!

About John Smith

I believe in treating people with love, peace & compassion Above All Else.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

